The Flag of the United States of America

Flag of United States of America

The flag of the United States of America comprises of thirteen equal flat stripes of red from top to bottom. These thirteen stripes in United States Flag are alternating with white and blue in a rectangle in the canton bearing fifty small five-pointed stars in white arranged in nine offset horizontal rows. These rows comprised of six stars (top and bottom) alternate with rows of five stars.

The 50 stars on the flag present the 50 states of the United States of America in the Flag of United States. The 13 bands characterize the thirteen British colonies that professed independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain, and developed the first states in the U.S.

History of United States of America Flag

On January 1, 1776, Washington well-ordered the Grand Union flag raised above his base at Prospect Hill. It had 13 alternative red and white bands and the British Union Jack in the top left corner (the canton). On June 14, 1777, to found an official flag for the new state, the Continental Congress passed the first Flag Act. After the first Flag Act, there have been numerous Acts on Flag passed and the flag observed various modifications accordingly.

Credit to for the above text.